How I’m Owning 2017

It’s taken me the month of January to get my New Year’s Plan together. I started off the year thinking about it and then going strong, but for the last week or so I’ve started to mull it over again, and get wishy-washy on it. That wishy-washy feeling I’m putting down to February. February is my least favourite month – and the hardest one for me mentally. I find that I’m missing the sun, and the grey of the world is starting to get to me.

So I’ve left this post until now because I know that writing down my plan will give me a kick in the butt to get through February.

I had been reading a bunch of New Year’s Resolutions posts and articles a couple of weeks ago and the main thing that stuck with me about a lot of them is on top of making a few specific resolutions people also pick a word or phrase to sum up how they want their year to go.

I really liked this idea because I find that I (like the rest of the world) make New Year’s Resolutions and then halfway through the year (if I’m lucky) they’ve fallen by the wayside.

So, my phrase this year is Own It.

While doing my soul searching for what I wanted my year to look like I realized the one that that I’m always complaining about and talking about and wishing I had was determination and follow through. I’m great with the talking, and I’m great with the ideas and the plans, but I’m crap with the follow through and that then makes me feel like I lack determination. Thus, my phrase “own it”.

I’m going to own this year. This year is mine. Whatever I want to do I’m going to do, and I’m not going to stand in my own way. And that I also realize is my main problem. I get in my own way. I talk myself out of things. I am my own worst enemy.

So on top of owning 2017, my specific New Year’s Resolutions are:

  1. Be healthier – which includes eating better, exercising and gaining some weight (it’s easy to lose weight with ulcerative colitis and hard to gain it back again).
  2. Learn French
  3. Write a full manuscript

Stay tuned because next week I’m sharking how I’m making my New Year’s Resolutions happen.

Leave a Reply

