Review Tuesday: Accidentally on Purpose by Jill Shalvis

Accidentally on Purpose by Jill Shalvis came out January 24 – and I finished it on January 24th. It downloaded to my Kobo in the morning, when I was able to read a little bit before work, then I read at lunch, and then I came home and essentially read all evening until it was finished.

This was a great book. And it’s my favourite one in the Heartbreaker Bay series so far. But, before I continue:

accidentally-on-purposeFrom Goodreads:

There’s no such thing as a little in love…

Elle Wheaten’s priorities: friends, career, and kick-ass shoes. Then there’s the muscular wall of stubbornness that’s security expert Archer Hunt—who comes before everything else. No point in telling Mr. “Feels-Free Zone” that, though. Elle will just see other men until she gets over Archer . . . which should only take a lifetime . . .

There’s no such thing as a little in lust…

Archer’s wanted the best for Elle ever since he sacrificed his law-enforcement career to save her. But now that she’s earned happiness and success, Archer just wants Elle 24/7. Their chemistry could start the next San Francisco Earthquake, and Archer doesn’t want to be responsible for the damage. The alternative? Watch her go out with guys who aren’t him . . .

There is such a thing as…

As far as Archer’s concerned, nobody is good enough for Elle. But when he sets out to prove it by sabotaging her dates, she gets mad—and things get hot as hell. Now Archer has a new mission: prove to Elle that her perfect man has been here all along…

Archer and Elle have great chemistry – and not just sexual chemistry. They argue and bicker, but there is this friendship, this understanding, this deep caring for each other that is evident from the first page. That caught my interest first.  Most importantly though, the other person always mattered most. You saw the love these two characters had for each other long before they realized it themselves.

The sexual chemistry for these two was off the charts – the story and the plot lined wasn’t overwhelmed with sex scenes, but there was enough for you to get hot and bothered.

The other thing that I loved about this book was the plot line. Elle and Archer have a fantastic backstory and it’s something that gets played out in this book (it’s hinted at, and alluded to in the other books in the series). I was dying to know the history between these two, and I was not disappointed. The plot line gave the story a depth and a weight to it, that also gave their love a weight to it. These two characters got to where they are through a very long and painful road. They both deserved the happiness that they found at the end.

Overall, this was a highly enjoyable book. The plot line kept me interested, and the chemistry and snappy banter kept me entertained. (Also, it’s always nice running into old characters from the other books).

The only thing that I was disappointed about with this book, is that the author Jill Shalvis had said, a couple of weeks ago, that anyone who had pre-ordered the book (and I did months ago) would get an extra little story about two previous characters. I however, didn’t one. So, that I’m bummed about.

However, the story itself was awesome, and clearly something that I could not put down. Definitely pick this one up when you need a feel good book. It will not disappoint.

Update February 2 2017: Jill Shalvis’s PR company reached out to me about the bonus scene that I was missing. Turns out, I’m a moron, and did not read the instructions properly. *face palm*. However, they were super amazing and sent me a link to the scene. It was fantastic. I love these characters so much, and I cannot wait for Spence’s story. So if you haven’t read this series yet, I question your life choices and demand that you go and start it now. Yeah. Like right now.

One thought on “Review Tuesday: Accidentally on Purpose by Jill Shalvis

  1. Hi Cait,
    Thank you for reading and reviewing ACCIDENTALLY ON PURPOSE. I noticed you said that you didn’t get the bonus scene. If you’ll email me at kpsimmon(at)inkslingerpr(dot)com, I’ll see what I can do to fix that. Thank you!
    KP

    Like

Leave a Reply

