My Favourite Books of 2016

If you’re looking for some book inspiration to start of 2017, here are my top 3 favourite books that I read in 2016.

aeronauts windlassNumber 1: The Aeronaut’s Windlass by Jim Butcher.

This book is without a doubt my favourite from 2016. My bestie Jay recommended it to me – and without his recommendation I would never have picked this one up. I didn’t like Jim Butcher’s Dresden Files series and have stayed away from him, but Jay told me to give this one a go, and I’m so glad that I did. This book was epic. It was an amazing fantasy story, with a very well  built and thought out world, and consisted of characters that were unforgettable. I cannot wait for book two! Which reminds me I should go check the publishing date for that…anyway, you can check out my full review here.

 

Number 2: For Better or Worse by Lauren Layne.

I read a lot of romances this year (though truthfully for the last couple of years I’ve been reading a lot of romances) and while I have a couple of favourites this one is without a doubt my favourite. Lauren Layne has become for me one of the those authors that I just buy without evefor better or worsen needing to know the story because 9 times out of 10 the story is amazing and I fall head over heels for the characters. This book was no exception. The banter and chemistry that existed between the two main character was swoon worthy. I inhaled this book. More like this please Lauren Layne. You can read more about what I thought of the book here.

 

 

 

 

 

 

melting-pointNumber 3: Melting Point by Kate Meader.

I never wrote a review for Melting Point because it’s a short novella, but this book made my heart sing. The characters are simply so wonderful and have gone through so much that when they get their happily-ever-after it was just perfection. This book is part of the Hot in Chicago series (which is an amazing series, and which Lauren Layne actually recommended in her Weekly). And while the series was incredible, this little novella is my favourite part. It is a love story about 2 men, which I don’t read often – mostly because I just don’t come across very many of them – but it was such a moving story. Gage and Brady. Two characters who have gone through their own version of hell (and seriously, was that ever heart breaking) to eventually find each other. Now, I would most definitely recommend that you read the Hot in Chicago series because it’s SO good. And definitely read Melting Point. It’s one that packs a hell of a punch.

 

What were some of your favourite books of 2016? I’m on the hunt for good reads because the last two books I read I really didn’t like. (You’ll be hearing all about them in the coming weeks!)

 

Leave a Reply

