Review Tuesday: Curious Minds by Janet Evanovich and Phoef Sutton

I am a huge fan of the Stephanie Plum series by Janet Evanovich and so every time that she has something new come out I usually give it a go. Curious Minds is the first book in a new series called Knight and Moon, and in the way that all of Janet Evanovich series are it’s silly and adventurous.

curious-mindsFrom Goodreads:

Emerson Knight is introverted, eccentric, and has little to no sense of social etiquette. Good thing he’s also brilliant, rich, and (some people might say) handsome, or he’d probably be homeless. Riley Moon has just graduated from Harvard Business and Harvard Law. Her aggressive Texas spitfire attitude has helped her land her dream job as a junior analyst with mega-bank Blane-Grunwald. At least Riley Moon thought it was her dream job, until she is given her first assignment: babysitting Emerson Knight.

What starts off as an inquiry about missing bank funds in the Knight account leads to inquiries about a missing man, missing gold, and a life-and-death race across the country. Through the streets of Washington, D.C., and down into the underground vault of the Federal Reserve in New York City, an evil plan is exposed. A plan so sinister that only a megalomaniac could think it up, and only the unlikely duo of the irrepressibly charming Emerson Knight and the tenacious Riley Moon can stop it.

The book is essentially about a heist. It’s a lot bigger than that in terms of global scale, but the nuts and bolts of it is that it’s a heist. That part of the story I found entertaining and very Stephanie Plum like in the sense that it’s over the top, no way would this ever work out outside of these page, but I’m enjoying myself nevertheless. You most definitely suspend your belief in order to get through this book.

That part of this book I enjoyed. It’s what I was expecting from the author of Stephanie Plum. What I didn’t like as much though were the protagonists. I found Emerson to be beyond over the top. I felt like he, and his house of “what the hell” push the boundaries beyond the ridiculous and was unnecessary. I didn’t really like him as a character.

Riley was a better character. She definitely gets pulled along for the ride for a good while, and she holds her own for the most part. But she too isn’t someone I loved as a character. I wanted her to stand up to Emerson more, and not be so wishy-washy.

The plot for me was what I enjoyed about the book, the characters not so much. And I most likely will not be reading the next in the series. I just don’t care enough about the characters to be interested in what they get up to next.

 

Leave a Reply

