Review Tuesday: Idol by Kristen Callihan

When I heard that Kristen Callihan had a new series coming out, I was very excited. I had read and loved her Game On series (they’re all very good, but book 3 The Game Plan? *swoon*), so I couldn’t wait to give Idol, book 1 in her VIP series a try.

idokFrom Goodreads:

Libby

I found Killian drunk and sprawled out on my lawn like some lost prince. With the face of a god and the arrogance to match, the pest won’t leave. Sexy, charming, and just a little bit dirty, he’s slowly wearing me down, making me crave more.

He could be mine if I dare to claim him. Problem is, the world thinks he’s theirs. How do you keep an idol when everyone is intent on taking him away?

Killian

As lead singer for the biggest rock band in the world, I lived a life of dreams. It all fell apart with one fateful decision. Now everything is in shambles.

Until Liberty. She’s grouchy, a recluse—and kind of cute. Scratch that. When I get my hands on her, she is scorching hot and more addictive than all the fans who’ve screamed my name.

The world is clamoring for me to get back on stage, but I’m not willing to leave her. I’ve got to find a way to coax the hermit from her shell and keep her with me. Because, with Libby, everything has changed. Everything

Unfortunately, this book fell flat to me. I gave it a 2 star rating on Goodreads because it was fine, and there were some fun moments, but overall, it just didn’t do it for me.

I didn’t enjoy the way the book was written – usually I don’t mind the switching of perspectives, but this time I didn’t like it. I didn’t like the tense/stream of conscious way it was written. There was something about the words were coming at it that just kept throwing me off and was jarring to me.

I also hate the name Killian, because of course its gets shortened to Kill. Really? What self-respecting human being names someone that? But in the grand scheme of the book, this is a minor detail.

What I couldn’t get over is that for most of the book nothing happens. Killian is hiding out, Libby is in a way hiding out, and overall the plot does not progress really for a good chunk of the book. Finally, we end of getting some momentum, but by the time that happened I just didn’t care anymore. Killian and Libby are cute, but for me, not cute or entertaining enough (oh the irony) to keep my attention. There was also an over-the-top amount of sex scenes that I eventually just started skimming because they weren’t aiding the plot or the character development in any way shape or form.

It was an okay read, but truthfully not one that I will ever read again. Like I said at the beginning of this post her Game On series is beyond better. Definitely give that series a go.

Now, for all that I didn’t really like this book. I am going to be reading book 2. Why you ask? Because there was a teaser chapter of book 2 at the end of this book, and let me tell you, that was intriguing. Plus, the banter! Oh, I love me some good banter. So, I have hopes that this book was a strike out for me, that it’s just a blip on the radar and that for book 2 she’s gonna come out swinging.

Leave a Reply

