5 Things: weddings, scandals, books, and a weekend away

The 5 Things this week that brought me joy:

IMG_2984

My cousin Mike got married on Saturday. It was a beautiful and gorgeous wedding, and they had a photo booth at the reception! Naturally, Doug and I had to go through it at least once.

IMG_2970

This is a picture of one side of the bread table at the wedding. I LOVE bread and I may or may not have swooned when I saw this. Definitely one of my favourite things about the reception. Though of course the food overall was amazing.

scandal

I finally jumped back into watching Scandal this week. I had previously seen season 1 and a couple episodes of season 2 last year, but I stopped because it got to be a little bit much and repetitive for me (holy crap with the back and forth between her and the guy’s name who I’m not going to mention here because of spoilers). However, I needed a show to watch and I love US political shows – there’s just so much drama – (The West Wing is most definitely in my top 5 shows) so I decided to give this one another go.

IMG_3005

My book club is currently reading The Murder of Roger Ackroyd by Agatha Christie. I’m only about 40 pages in so far, but one of the things that I really like about it is how short the chapters are. It makes it feel like you’re progressing quickly through the story and to me it comes across as very organized, which I feel a detective/whodunit novel should be. The main thing with this book is that I don’t read it at night. I’m a huge chicken with an overactive imagination. This is a book that I will read in the daytime in the sunlight only.

IMG_3008

I’m leaving in a couple of hours for a weekend away at Doug’s parents’ place. It’s going to be a lot of fun. The hardest thing about packing for me is deciding what book to bring. I finally decided on my Kobo (because I have a bunch of unread books on there, as well as some all time favs) and Love Style Life by Garance Dore. The Agatha Christie book is staying at home since I can’t read it at night, and I feel like that’s when I’m going to be doing my reading this weekend.

I hope that you all had things that brought you joy this week! As always, my 5 Things is inspired by Cupcakes and Cashmere.

 

 

Leave a Reply

