Sunday Cooking: Banana Blueberry Smoothie

I made my first ever smoothie, and for that first smoothie, I decided on banana blueberry. The reason that I made the smoothie, and why I want to make more of them is that since I can no longer have dairy, my calcium intake has been shot to shit. I used almond milk for the smoothie. Now, my problem? I didn’t like the smoothie that I made.

This is thus going to be a different kind of post because I’m going to tell you how I made it, and then I’m going to need you, dear reader,o to give me any kind of help you can on making my smoothies better. My bones, and I, will thank you.

Ingredients:

1 cup vanilla almond milk (It was the only kind I had in the house)

1 cup frozen blueberries

1 banana

Directions:

I got the directions from Refinery 29. It suggested that I use 1 cup of almond milk and 2 fruits. It also suggested some other things that I could put in (like spinach), but I was thinking “let’s not get too wild over here for the first one,” so 2 fruits it was.

IMG_2899

So I put all of the ingredients into my blender, blended it on the smoothie option, and came up with my very purple smoothie.

IMG_2901

Now I poured it into a very tall glass, because it did make more than I was anticipating, and started to drink.

IMG_2904

The problem: I didn’t like the taste of it.

One of the things I’m going to try differently is using just plain original almond milk. I’m thinking that cutting out the vanilla taste might be better. I was also thinking of using less blueberries because it was rather overwhelming of a taste.

But does anyone have any suggestions for me? What do you use when making your smoothies?

 

Leave a Reply

