Sunday Cooking: Summer Spinach and Berry Salad with Lemon Chia Vinaigrette

For those of you who don’t know me, I am one of the world’s worst vegetable eaters – small children and I have the same appreciation for them, i.e. none. That being said, I am not a small child, and being a 29-year-old woman, I figured it was high time I started working on finding out which vegetables I do indeed enjoy, and then cooking them in fun ways so that I would actually eat them.

Thus, the Summer Spinach and Berry Salad with Lemon Chia Vinaigrette from Kitschen Cat that I found on Pinterest.

The big thing that drew me to this recipe immediately was a) the amazing photos of the salad, and b) how different and not boring it was. I was looking for something new and interesting to awaken my taste buds to the joy of vegetables and I found it.

Ingredients:

Salad part:

1 bunch fresh spinach

1 large avocado

4 strawberries

1/2 cup fresh blueberries

1/4 cup chopped pecans

Dressing part:

2 tablespoons of melted coconut oil

2 tablespoons lemon juice (side note: I found it super lemony so I might just do 1 tbs next time)

1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar

1 tablespoon honey

1 tablespoon chia seeds

1 teaspoon lemon zest

Directions:

Wash your spinach and put it in a bowl. Next chop up your avocado. Then thinly slice your 4 strawberries. Put your chopped avocado, sliced strawberries, blueberries and pecans into the spinach bowl.

IMG_2801

Take a new bowl and pour in your melted coconut oil, lemon juice, apple cider vinegar, honey, chia seeds and lemon zest. Whisk until all of the ingredients are mixed together.

IMG_2803

Pour the dressing over the salad and you’re good to go!

IMG_2804

I put the salad into two separate tuperware containers and Doug and I took them for a picnic lunch down by the lake. It was perfect for a hot summer day.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

