Sunday Cooking: Spiced Almonds

It’s been a while since a Sunday Bakes or Sunday Cooks post. I was struggling with wanting to try new recipes, but not wanting to buy a carton or bunch of an ingredient that I would use once and not use again for a while. (Side note: Why does buttermilk only come in 1 litre cartons? A quarter litre would be all I need. *le sigh*). Then, out of the blue, I remembered Bulk Barn. I went there today because I needed some spices that I didn’t want to buy a jar of. Bulk Barn is a gift from God. I’m in love. I spent a total of 32 cents on two different spices, which is all I needed for the recipe. Yeah, that’s right. 32 CENTS. Amazing. (I also walked out without buying any candy or chocolate. Today, apparently, I had some Wonder Woman will power going on).

Okay moving on from my new found love of Bulk Barn, today I decided to make Spiced Almonds. I got the recipe from a random book I was looking at while Doug and I were at his parents’ place. It was in a diabetic cookbook from Reader’s Digest called Magic Foods for Better Blood Sugar.

This recipe is beyond easy to make, and if you like spicy food is a great way to eat some healthy almonds. The recipe is a snack rather than a meal of any kind, and I made it for Doug because he loves spice.

Ingredients:

1 cup unpeeled whole almonds

1 teaspoon olive oil

3/4 teaspoon ground cumin

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Take a small shallow pan and line it with aluminum foil.

In a bowl add the olive oil, ground cumin, salt and cayenne pepper. Then take a small whisk or wooden spoon and mix everything together.

IMG_2787

Add the whole almonds into the bowl and whisk or stir the almonds until they are coated with your spicy mixture.

Pour the coated almonds into the pan, and place in the oven for 25-30 minutes. Once done, take them out and let them cool.

IMG_2789

The almonds will keep for about a week in an airtight container.

An easy peasy healthy snack!

 

Leave a Reply

