5 Things: best birthday gift, portraits, pumpkin bread & books of course!

So, last week I totally missed my 5 things. Life got busy, I fell behind in my blog schedule etc. Thus, this week combines two weeks worth of 5 things.

As always, I got the idea for 5 Things from Emily of Cupcakes and Cashmere. An awesome lifestyle blog that you should follow.

IMG_2709

For my Dad’s 60th birthday we got him a flight on a Lancaster Bomber. There are only 2 left in the world that fly – one is in England, and one is in Hamilton Ontario at the Canadian Warplane Heritage Museum. It was an hour long flight and he had a blast. It might have been the best birthday gift ever. I’m just sayin’.

IMG_2728

This is my new tote bag from Indigo that I absolutely love. My cousin actually got it for me because she spent over $30 in the store and thus the tote bag dropped in price to $6.99. Can’t go wrong with that. I also finished Cream of the Crop, which was hilarious. I will be writing a blog post about that soon. And currently I’m reading The View From the Cheap Seats. I actually have to finish it by Monday (I have 300 pages left to go) because it’s due back to the library by then. Challenge accepted!

IMG_2032

Doug and I went to Ottawa earlier in the week. We were visiting a friend of mine and his family. My friend and his wife teach in Costa Rica and they (and their gorgeous year and half year old daughter) came to Canada for a month to visit family and friends. It was fantastic seeing them, plus Doug and I got our first weekend away together, which was fun.

IMG_2757

In Ottawa we went to the National Gallery of Canada to see the Vigée Le Brun exhibit. It was spectacular.  Above is a portrait of Marie Antoinette in full court dress. There are 4 portraits of Marie Antoinette and dozens of others in the exhibit. It’s definitely something that you should go see if you’re able to.

IMG_2762

This is a new recipe! Doug’s mom gave it to me, and it’s a recipe for pumpkin bread. She had made 2 loaves when we went to visit on our way home from Ottawa, and so I tasted pumpkin bread for the first time. Delicious. I was also given the second loaf to take home. I’m so excited to make my own!

Leave a Reply

