5 Things: Oh Canada, anniversaries, jewelry & magical adventures

Here are the 5 Things that brought me some joy this week. As I said in last week’s post, this new series of mine is inspired by Emily from Cupcakes and Cashmere. (And if you haven’t ever checked out her blog you totally should).

IMG_2659

It’s Canada Day today!  We are indeed a mighty nation and we are 149 this year! We are the nation that brought you insulin, hockey, basketball, the zipper, MacIntosh apples, poutine, standard time, egg cartons, sonar, gas masks, the paint roller, and the electric wheelchair – just to name a few things. Today the day started out perfect for me because I woke up to the sound of rain, and then it continued to rain for a good chunk of the day and we even had a thunderstorm (Best. Thing. Ever.).

 

IMG_1970

This past Sunday was mine and Doug’s 6 month anniversary. I cannot believe how quickly time has gone by, nor have I ever been happier. He’s definitely a keeper 🙂

IMG_2658

I discovered this week that Jack Kerouac, author made famous by his book On The Road, is actually  a Canadian. I was mind boggled. Maclean’s wrote a fantastic article about him and his being Canadian (which is how I found out) and you can read it here. I’m definitely going to be moving On The Road up my to-read list.

IMG_2662

I bought this beautiful tree of life sterling silver necklace last weekend in Brighton from The Blue House. It’s a gorgeous store and if you’re ever in the area you should definitely drop in.

#photos

This photo I saw on Instagram this week from ourplanetdaily, and it’s taken in Taichung, Taiwan. I fell in love with this picture. The stairs seem to want to lead you on some kind of magical adventure don’t you think?

 

2 thoughts on “5 Things: Oh Canada, anniversaries, jewelry & magical adventures

Leave a Reply

