Abandoning Books That Bog You Down

Have you ever abandoned a book? Are you a person who struggles to the end of a book that they despise or do you toss it aside and move onto the next?

Usually when I pick up a book, I read it all the way through – even if I’m not really enjoying it. I really don’t like not finishing books, and I also live with this hope that even if I’m not currently liking it, it’s going to get better. I’ve realized though that this philosophy of reading can end up hurting my reading experience and pleasure because I can get bogged down with a book that I don’t want to read anymore. Thus, my amendment to my reading philosophy – abandon ship when you simply can’t get through it, don’t want to read it, or find yourself not reading anything at all or something else altogether just to get away from this one particular book.

Screen Shot 2016-05-25 at 11.08.21 PM

My main bookshelves on Goodreads

As you can see in the picture above, I haven’t abandoned many books. Though I will admit that the ones that I have abandoned are pretty popular – Game of Thrones, The Hunger Games, and The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo, just to name a few. I just couldn’t get into them or through them. I was 400 pages in to Game of Thrones when I got to one particular part that became the straw that broke the camel’s back and I ended up chucking the book across the room. Some books are just not going to do it for you, (even if they seem to do it for millions of other people), and that’s okay. Don’t suffer through what you truly are not enjoying reading. Find something else that you do enjoy.

This isn’t to say don’t challenge yourself, or only read what you know you’re going to like. Read what you know you like, and read what you’re not sure of, try something new. Sometimes it’ll work and sometimes it won’t, and that’s okay. Abandon what you truly and sincerely can’t get through and find something else instead. Your time is precious. Don’t waste it on a book that is only bogging you down and making you miserable. Abandon those books.

 

Leave a Reply

