Review Tuesday: I Wish You Were Mine

Lauren Layne is quickly becoming one of my favourite go to romance authors. I don’t remember how I came across her, but I absolutely love her Stiletto and Oxford series and this new one in the Oxford series didn’t disappoint.

A lnaked couple embracing each other in the darkness

I Wish You Were Mine is book two in the Oxford series and is about Jackson, who you meet very briefly at the end of book one. Jackson is a pro football player who loses his career and his marriage in one fell swoop. His ex-wife is a conniving wicked witch who no one feels for even remotely because she definitely made her own bed and now has to sleep in it. Jackson moves to New York City and takes a job at Oxford magazine. Cue Mollie. Mollie is a wickedly smart, if slightly awkward woman who happens to be ex wife’s sister. Can we say drama. The catch of course is that Mollie is everything her sister is not. So we really like Mollie and Jackson.

stilettoI read this book in two sittings, and it took two only because it was 2:30 in the morning and I had to go to bed. However, as soon as I woke up again I promptly finished the book. I have to admit that this book isn’t my favourite in the series, but it is a fantastic read. Jackson and Mollie are extremely likeable characters who have both been screwed over royally by the same woman, and who have always been friends. I really liked watching Jackson learning to navigate his new life, and figure out what he wants. I also really liked watching Mollie come into her own, and finally stand up for herself and what she wants.

This was a great great that I couldn’t put down, and is definitely worth a read! Also, it sets up Lincoln a little bit more and I definitely cannot wait for his book (book 3 in the series) that is coming out in December 2016 (I can’t believe I have to wait that long!).

If you haven’t ever read Lauren Layne you should jump on that pronto, she does not disappoint!

Leave a Reply

