Review Tuesday: Zoe’s Tale by John Scalzi

Zoe’s Tale by John Scalzi is the fourth book in the Old Man’s War series. I don’t like a lot of scifi, but I really like John Scalzi. If his name is on it, I will read it. He’s one of those authors for me.

Zoe's TaleFrom Goodreads:

How do you tell your part in the biggest tale in history?

I ask because it’s what I have to do. I’m Zoe Boutin Perry: A colonist stranded on a deadly pioneer world. Holy icon to a race of aliens. A player (and a pawn) in a interstellar chess match to save humanity, or to see it fall. Witness to history. Friend. Daughter. Human. Seventeen years old.

Everyone on Earth knows the tale I am part of. But you don’t know my tale: How I did what I did — how I did what I had to do — not just to stay alive but to keep you alive, too. All of you. I’m going to tell it to you now, the only way I know how: not straight but true, the whole thing, to try make you feel what I felt: the joy and terror and uncertainty, panic and wonder, despair and hope. Everything that happened, bringing us to Earth, and Earth out of its captivity. All through my eyes.

It’s a story you know. But you don’t know it all.

Zoe’s Tale takes place at the same time as the events in book three The Last Colony, only from the perspective of Zoe. When I first realized that I was slightly concerned because I didn’t think that there could be that much to talk about, and that it would simply be a rehash of book three. But it wasn’t. Zoe was off doing a lot of different things in the last book, so it was interesting to see what she was getting up to. It was also interesting getting her take on things. It definitely changed how I viewed certain moments from the previous book.

There was also a massive key moment that involved Zoe in The Last Colony that was never really talked about, but in this book it was fully explained and you got to see what Zoe was really up to. I really enjoyed that. My prediction for her is that she’s going to be some kind of amazing diplomat. I can’t wait to see what she gets up to next and how she plays a role in the series going forward. I really like her. She’s a fantastic character.

This is a great series, and one that you should definitely read if you’re into scifi, and truthfully even if you really aren’t. I fly through this series. The books are just so good.

 

Leave a Reply

