Sunday Cooking: Pan Sautéed Chicken with Vegetables & Herbs

I started my weekly Sunday Baking post because I’m not very good at cooking, and since I really enjoy baking my thought process was that if I got comfortable enough in the kitchen, cooking would seem less daunting and everything would be a-okay.

That logic hasn’t quite translate into real life. A good chunk of the reason why I find cooking daunting is that because of my terrible allergies I don’t really taste, and I don’t really smell – like ever. Both of which however, are rather important in the kitchen. Thus, even though I’m much more comfortable baking, cooking is still incredibly daunting. I realized just how daunted I was when I made pan sautéed chicken with vegetables and herbs.

I found the recipe at Metro actually. The grocery store had a little Campbells display with tiny booklets containing a couple of recipes (some of which I can’t make because they are heavily diary based) so I picked up one, perused through and then took it home with me.

IMG_2125(Click the photo to enlarge the recipe)

I currently live at home with my parents, and I quickly realized that mom and I have (at the moment anyway) very different ways of cooking. In other words I was going to follow the recipe exactly because I’m not fully comfortable, and she was all we can use this recipe but we don’t have to follow it to the letter.

We can upon this realization when I was going to go out and get red onions, and she said to just use a white onion that we already had in the fridge. (And yes this cooking experience definitely happened under the direct supervision of my mom).

So I chopped up some onions and potatoes first. IMG_2123

(See my brand new spices that I bought?!)

Then I combined the black pepper, paprika and flour onto a plate and then coated my chicken. I used 3 chicken breasts (because there was only three of us eating) and I found that there wasn’t enough to coat all three pieces, so I had to mix some more.

It was then that mom and I started cooking the chicken in a pan…and this is where I got all worried.

IMG_2124I don’t like cooking chicken, mostly because you can get really sick if you don’t cook it properly. Beef I enjoy cooking because it’s okay if it’s a little pink. Pink in relation to beef does not mean the determent of your insides, unlike in chicken. I recognize that this is something that I have to get over. And I will. I’m going to be cooking a lot of chicken in my future so I can get a handle on myself. However, at this moment in time, I did not have a handle on myself. I was rather afraid I was going to kill us all, so mom took over the chicken cooking, while I cleaned up. (That’s important too lol).

Once the chickened was browned on both side (about 5 minutes each side) you then put it into an oven safe pan then go back and cook your vegetables, adding in your broth, lemon juice and oregano. That takes about 5 min.

IMG_2126Then you put all of your vegetable mixture into the oven safe pan with the chicken, cover it with a lid and bake it for 20 minutes. Then you uncover the pan and bake it for about 15 min.

After that just serve it up on plates and sprinkle some thyme on it, and you’re good to go.

IMG_2128(Chicken and vegetables with a little bit of salad)

Lessons Learned While Cooking:

  1. Be not afraid of cooking, or more specifically chicken. I can do this! (Hear me roar and all of that)
  2. A meat thermometer is essential and will grossly aid in lesson number one.
2 thoughts on “Sunday Cooking: Pan Sautéed Chicken with Vegetables & Herbs

Leave a Reply

