Review Tuesday: Chasers of the Light: Poems from the Typewriter Series by Tyler Knott Gregson

I don’t read very much poetry, but I stumbled across this book and I fell in love with the title “Chasers of the Light” so I picked it up, and after a quick perusal bought it.

chasers of the lightFrom Goodreads:

The epic made simple. The miracle in the mundane.

One day, while browsing an antique store in Helena, Montana, photographer Tyler Knott Gregson stumbled upon a vintage Remington typewriter for sale. Standing up and using a page from a broken book he was buying for $2, he typed a poem without thinking, without planning, and without the ability to revise anything.

He fell in love.

Three years and almost one thousand poems later, Tyler is now known as the creator of the Typewriter Series: a striking collection of poems typed onto found scraps of paper or created via blackout method. Chasers of the Light features some of his most insightful and beautifully worded pieces of work—poems that illuminate grand gestures and small glimpses, poems that celebrate the beauty of a life spent chasing the light.

Chasers of the Light: Poems from the Typewriter Series by Tyler Knott Gregson is a book of poetry about love, and life. I love that the poems are photographed because they’re typed on the back of random pieces of paper. It gives the book a slight coffee table book kind of air because the printed pages are glossy, but it also has this uniqueness about it because the poems are typed. I like the dichotomy.

The poems themselves are beautiful. They’re usually rather short, but they pack a punch. They’re also usually very uplifting, which is always lovely. Sometimes I feel like poetry gets a bad rap for being either very niche, weird, depressing etc. And these are not. They are accessible, and charming, and remind you of the beauty in the world. It’s very refreshing.

I read this book before I went to sleep. I would read a couple of poems until my eyes started to close and then turn out my light. It was a wonderful way to get your mind and heart into a good headspace before you fell asleep.

I would highly recommend this book for lovers of poetry, and for those out there who don’t like poetry all that much. I think that everyone would really like this one. I’m also going to be on the lookout for any other books that Tyler Knott Gregson does. He’s definitely one to watch.

Leave a Reply

