Sunday Baking: Blueberry-Cinnamon Crumb Cake

I got invited to a super bowl party tonight, and I decided that I would bring to the party this blueberry-cinnamon crumb cake that I’ve been wanting to make from the book What to Bake & How to Bake It by Jane Hornby. I know what you’re thinking blueberry-cinnamon crumb cake just screams super bowl doesn’t it?

IMG_2035

The cake looks great in the book, (well I mean, everything looks great in the book) so yesterday afternoon I scoped out the recipe, and ran to the store to get what I needed – random things included buttermilk and turbinado sugar.

The recipe also called for blueberries. I went with frozen. But then forgot to defrost them. A quick google search told me that I could just take them out, put them in cold water and they would be defrosted lickity-split. Not the case. My blueberries froze into a solid mass because of the cold water. Oh great times. So I decided to run them under warm water, which seemed to do the trick. Then I sent a rather frantic text and What’s App message to a couple of friends to make sure that I hated wrecked the blueberries. They assured me I had not.

Blueberry Fiasco behind me, I then moved onto making the cake. This proved rather simple and easy until the recipe made me do some math. One of the steps is “take your remaining cinnamon and turbinado sugar and…”. What is my remaining? How much have I used? Why do I now have to google how many tablespoons are in a 1/4 of a cup? This step should have been laid out point blank. I do not need this kind of complication in my life when I’m trying to make sure that I’m making this thing correctly.

Also, I might have only realized then after I had poured the full amount of cinnamon into a separate bowl, which I then had to chuck and re-pour.

Now everything is mixed and ready to be layered into the pan. I make my first layer – putting HALF of the mix into the pan, then scoop in some blueberries, then my cinnamon, turbinado sugar mix and then I go to repeat except now I don’t have enough cake mix to make a second layer. I have enough for about half a layer.

Some rather forceful curses later, and some magic done in the layering, I have my cake, that baked in 40 min, and that looks pretty good if I do say so myself (maybe not looking as good as the picture in the book, but still pretty damn good).

IMG_2040

To go along with my cake for the super bowl, thanks to my cousin who I had a sushi lunch with today, I also know who is playing in the game tonight. (Obviously, I’m the super fan). So now I’m all set 🙂

Leave a Reply

