Baking Sunday: Easy Peasy Lemon Bars

This Sunday is all about lemon bars. I got the recipe from my friend Natalie. This past Christmas we were all going to be taking part in a Christmas bar exchange, so each of us had to make a pan of bars. In the little booklet of bars that Natalie has I came across this recipe for lemon bars, and I nearly swooned:

  1. Because they’re so damn good. I mean who doesn’t like lemon bars?
  2. Because they were so easy to make

So for my Sunday bakes I decide why not let’s give them a go. The recipe itself is super easy.

For the bottom you just need: 2 cups flour, 3/4 cup confectioners sugar, pinch of salt and two sticks of softened butter.

Using your hands you mix the butter in until everything becomes a nice huge lump of pastry-ish dough (I’m sure there’s a technical term for it, but I don’t know it), and then after greasing a pan you just pat your pastry-ish dough into the bottom of the pan. Then you bake it for 20-25 min at 350 degrees (until lightly golden).

IMG_1939

For the filling you need: 5 eggs, 1 and 1/2 cup sugar, 1 cup lemon juice, 1/3 cup flour.

You mix it all together and whisk it until there are not clumps. Then you pour it on top of your nicely golden bottom pastry and then pop it back into the oven for 20-25 min at 350 degrees. IMG_1940

You take it out once the lemon as thickened and there’s no liquid. Let it cool and you’re good to go.

IMG_1944

They tasted, amazing. (So said everyone who ate them at any rate). The only thing I would do differently, is use a bigger pan. I think the crust/pastry bottom of the bars was a bit too thick.

IMG_1946

I think I’m going to make them again soon to try out my theory on the bigger pan and see how well that goes. Also, since they are so easy to make I feel like these might be the desert I whip up in a snap (alright let’s be real…I’ll whip up in an hour or two) when I need something quick and that I know will taste good.

 

Leave a Reply

