Review Tuesday: The Game Plan by Kristen Callihan

A couple of days ago I received my Goodreads newsletter telling me about new romance books (it is one of my favourite genres), and as I was scrolling down through the newsletter I stopped on one particular title.

Now, usually, I don’t judge a book by it’s cover, but I totally and completely did with this one. And I judged that the guy on the cover was hot, and so I clicked on the cover and learned about The Game Plan by Kristen Callihan.

From Goodreads:

A beard-related dare and one hot-as-hell kiss changes everything.

NFL center Ethan Dexter’s focus has always been on playing football and little else. Except when it comes to one particular woman. The lovely Fiona Mackenzie might not care about his fame, but she’s also never looked at him as anything more than one of her brother-in-law’s best friend. That ends now.

Fi doesn’t know what to make of Dex. The bearded, tattooed, mountain of man-muscle looks more like a biker than a football player. Rumor has it he’s a virgin, but she finds that hard to believe. Because from the moment he decides to turn his quiet intensity on her she’s left weak at the knees and aching to see his famous control fully unleashed.

Dex is looking for a forever girl, but they live vastly different lives in separate cities. Fi ought to guard her heart and walk away. But Dex has upped his game and is using all his considerable charm to convince Fi he’s her forever man. 

I found out that The Game Plan was book three in the Game On series, but I didn’t want to read through the first two books that I may or may not like to get to book three that I also may or may not have liked. So I just read book three. And let me tell you this book did not disappoint. Dex is just completely wonderful. If it was possible to order myself up a man like him, I would do it.

Dex and Fi are a great couple, and without giving away any plot points, they go through a lot together, and show that commitment to each other is the most important part of a relationship. Shit happens. And sometimes a lot of shit happens, but they show that they’re a team. And that to me is the sexiest thing about this book. (Though obv there are some great bedroom scenes as well).

After I finish this book, I read book two The Friend Zone, and book one The Hook Up, which were also very good. I think I read all three in about a week.

If you’re looking for a good new series of books, with great couples and hot guys than this is definitely a series for you.

2 thoughts on “Review Tuesday: The Game Plan by Kristen Callihan

  1. Hey, I really liked this review and I think the series is amazing. I agree, I think the sexiest part in the book, and something Callihan always seems to include, is that the couples always face problems and tragedies head on and overcome them together. I think out of all three I probably liked The Friend-Zone the best but I think all three are awesome books.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

