Sunday Baking: Fudgey Cheesecake Brownies

On my second Baking Sunday, I decided to make fudgey cheesecake brownies from the book What to Bake and How to Bake It.

So I learned from last week and read the whole recipe before I started mixing anything.

New lesson I learned however – pan size rather matters when baking something.

IMG_1709So I made the first layer which is the chocolate without a hitch. Then I made the topping/second layer which is the cheesecake layer, and I did use an extra ounce of cream cheese, but my thought was that’ll be fine.

Then I poured the first layer, and the second layer into my 8 by 8 inch pan. The recipe called for a 9 by 9 inch pan. But I thought what’s an inch? I don’t want to go out and buy another pan.

Yeah…so after pouring all of the layers in, I had what was looking like more of a brownie cake than brownies.

The recipe says it’s suppose to bake for 30-35 min. 30 minutes later I’m checking on it and it’s just about liquid still. I put it back in the oven for another 5, and then another 5, and another. An hour later it’s finally ready. It’s been baking for approx. 90 minutes. And I will admit that I am beyond frustrated and so damn tired of poking a metal stick into the centre to see if it’s cooked all the way through.

IMG_1711(Note all of the wholes in the centre of the brownie cake there)

Finally though it cooked all the way through, and didn’t burn (I was super worried about that).

Also, side note, but in the above picture you can see that the brownies (cake) is poured on top of parchment paper. So you butter the pan lightly, then put the parchment paper down, and then pour in your batter. Then when everything cools down you simply lift the parchment paper and the whole thing pops out easy peasy. (I’m telling you I’m loving this cookbook).

The end result:

IMG_1713

I got my parents and grandmother to do a taste test for me, and they said that it was good. Yay! What I thought was definitely going to be failure turned out to be successful.

But I am totally going to go and buy a 9 by 9 inch pan.

Leave a Reply

