Review Tuesday: Saga Vol 5 by Brian K. Vaughan & Fiona Staples

Saga is a series that I’m really enjoying, and volume 5 is no exception.

From Goodreads:

Multiple storylines collide in this cosmos-spanning new volume. While Gwendolyn and Lying Cat risk everything to find a cure for The Will, Marko makes an uneasy alliance with Prince Robot IV to find their missing children, who are trapped on a strange world with terrifying new enemies.


Saga Volume 5The last volume left everything on a cliff hanger with Marko’s family being kidnapped. This volume deals with Alana and Marko’s mom trying to rescue themselves, and Marko and Prince Robert IV are trying to find them.

In this volume we’re also introduced to a new set of players. They are rebels essentially who don’t belong to either Landfall or Wreath, but who want to fighting to stop. These people though of course are not good people. Like very much not good people, and their way of stopping the fight is of course handing over Hazel.

Marko while searching for his family is also doing some soul searching of his own. He has become a pacifist, but is now rethinking that as his daughter and wife and mother have been kidnapped and their lives are in danger. A really bad drug trip also enlightens him in perhaps not the ideal way.

In the other plot line there is Lying Cat, Gwendolyn, Sophie and The Brand (The Will’s sister) are hoping to find a cure for The Will, which they do, but nothing goes according to plan, and The Will is not happy about what was sacrificed to get it.

The story line ends with Hazel being kidnapped again, and the next thing you see of her is years later. She’s been separated from her family for a long time, and it hurts to know that. I hate when people get separated – especially children. And I really want to know what happens to everyone in those years where she’s missing.

This was a very basic straight forward plot line, but it was engaging, and I’ve invested enough that I really want to know what happens to these characters. The artwork is stunning as always, and you definitely have to pause in reading just to take it all in. There is one rather disturbing image in this volume and while it is funny it’s also rather gross. Just an FYI.

This is a good series so far that I’m really enjoying. If you’re into scifi, and a rather different set of characters this is probably a series for you.




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s