Review Tuesday: The Spirit Thief by Rachel Aaron

This book was marketed to me as being like The Lies of Locke Lamora, and that fans of the Locke Lamora series would like this book. WEB OF LIES PEOPLE! WEB. OF. LIES.

The Spirit Thief

From Goodreads:

Eli Monpress is talented. He’s charming. And he’s a thief.

But not just any thief. He’s the greatest thief of the age – and he’s also a wizard. And with the help of his partners – a swordsman with the most powerful magic sword in the world but no magical ability of his own, and a demonseed who can step through shadows and punch through walls – he’s going to put his plan into effect.

The first step is to increase the size of the bounty on his head, so he’ll need to steal some big things. But he’ll start small for now. He’ll just steal something that no one will miss – at least for a while.

Like a king.

I was expecting this book to be serious, and epic. I walked in thinking of that, which meant that when it wasn’t serious or epic or anything like The Lies of Locke Lamora I was completely disappointed. Perhaps, I sealed my own doom with this book by walking in with certain expectations.

This book was silly. It had a silly air about it. It was a romp, a story that didn’t have a fantastic arc, and that tried to be epic but failed utterly. Eli for the majority of the book is one dimensional. He’s a thief with a plan to steal a king. That’s it. He doesn’t grow. He doesn’t change.

There is a plot twist part way through where all of a sudden we’re dealing with an evil wizard but even that fell flat I felt. By that point in the book, I just didn’t care anymore. I was bored.

So for me, this was not a very good book. I didn’t like it, and I felt it was blah. If you did like it please feel free to write in a comment and let me know why.

Leave a Reply

