Review Tuesday: Shutter Volume 1

I was at the American Library Association convention/meeting in June in San Francisco, and while there I stumbled across Image Comics table where they were handing out free first issues of some of their comics (I know, I love my job). Shutter was one of the ones I picked up, and I really liked issue one, so I decided to get volume one and see how it went.

Firstly though, from Goodreads:

INDIANA JONES FOR THE 21st CENTURY! Marvel Knights: Hulk and Glory writer Joe Keatinge teams up with artist extraordinaire Leila del Duca for her Image Comics debut in an all-new ongoing series combining the urban fantasy of Fables and the globe-spanning adventure of Y: The Last Man. Kate Kristopher, once the most famous explorer of an Earth far more fantastic than the one we know, is forced to return to the adventurous life she left behind when a family secret threatens to destroy everything she spent her life protecting.shutter volume 1

I have to say, that I love the artwork for this series so far. It captured my attention immediately, and I was intrigued with every page I turned. In terms of the storyline, I will admit that currently I am massively confused. Kate is a kick ass character (who does seem to be getting her ass kicked at the moment, but you know the girl has moves) who is struggling to find out what exactly is happening and thus so is the reader.

Kate is an explorer who has given up that life and turned to photography. She lives with her best friend Alain who is transgendered, and who is also the first transgendered character I’ve read where the storyline has absolutely nothing to do with anything about gender identity or sexuality. I love that. It’s mentioned that Alain is transgendered, but it’s done in a way that shows that this is just normal life, nothing to see here, let’s move along.

Things then start happening to Kate, and she has no idea why, but it all comes down to a big (or a couple of big) family secrets that are coming to bite her in the ass [read: trying to kill her], and thus she needs to come out swinging. Volume one ends however before she does fully come out swinging, and before the reader knows or understands fully what is going on. Thus my confusion.

I am intrigued enough however to read volume two and hopefully have some of my questions answered, and to watch Kate kick some serious ass.

 

Leave a Reply

