Getting Organized Part 1

Recently, I’ve been trying to declutter and get organized. It’s an ongoing battle, and so far I’ve only succeed in organizing and decluttering my jewelry and two of my dressers, but hey, you have to start somewhere.

One of the things I wanted to get rid of was all of the little boxes I had that held individual necklaces, rings, and earrings. There was just so many little boxes everywhere that it was getting to the point where I didn’t even know what I had, and thus I wasn’t wearing a lot of my jewelry. So, I now have one huge jewelry box that holds all of my earrings. (Also, when the box is closed it looks like a huge wooden book, how cool is that?!)Jewelry box Everything is in one place, and it’s easy to see my choices when I’m getting ready in the morning. I also got a necklace and bracelet holder that I’ve hung on the wall, which again lets me see all of my choices, but also means that since everything is hanging there are no little boxes on my dresser anymore. I also now have one box for my rings. Hanging

For my make up, I got this plastic contraption with little spots to hold numerous things. In the picture below it’s sitting in the centre on top of my little three drawer jewelry box that now holds some other make up, hair ties, clips, bobby pins etc. Also note how tidy everything looks! (I’m super proud of myself currently).

Tall dresser

The last dresser I cleaned off has my big earring jewelry box on it (the box on the far right in the picture below), and another box that now houses all of my nail polish, and other nail accessories (the Union Jack box). The box isn’t full, but it gives me room for when/if (alright let’s be honest, when) I get more, and yet still gives me room to be organized.

Long dresser

Everything now has it’s own place, and there is room in each box to add more things if I need to. Now, the hard part will be keeping everything looking like this, but I feel that since I have a system, it’ll be much easier to keep everything clean, dust free, and fresh.

The next project is decluttering my books…which if I’m still being honest, is a hell of a lot harder to declutter than this current project. Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

