Review Tuesday: Second Chance Summer by Jill Shalvis

I love Jill Shalvis. She is one of my favourite authors and her books go onto my “automatically buy” list. Second Chance Summer is book 1 in a new series called Cedar Ridge (pause for fan girl dancing and screaming over a new book series by Jill Shalvis), and it came out on the day that I was flying back from San Francisco and thus a day I had off work. So the first thing I did after napping for about 6 hours was buy, read and finish this book.

Seconds-Chance-Summer-redo-250x392

From Goodreads:

RESCUE ME

Cedar Ridge, Colorado, is famous for crisp mountain air, clear blue skies, and pine-scented breezes. And it’s the last place Lily Danville wants to be. But she needs a job, and there’s an opening at the hottest resort in her hometown. What has her concerned is the other hot property in Cedar Ridge: Aidan Kincaid-firefighter, rescue worker, and heartbreaker. She never could resist that devastating smile . . .

The Kincaid brothers are as rough and rugged as the Rocky Mountains they call home. Aidan has always done things his own way, by his own rules. And never has he regretted anything more than letting Lily walk out of his life ten years ago. If anyone has ever been in need of rescuing, she has. What she needs more than anything are long hikes, slow dances, and sizzling kisses. But that can only happen if he can get her to give Cedar Ridge-and this bad boy-a second chance . . .

When I first heard about this series, I admit that I was a little worried that it was going to be very much like another series by her called Wilder – a trilogy about three brothers who are owners of an adventure company, but it’s not. Cedar Ridge has completely different story lines, no over lap, and most importantly a bunch of new characters to fall in love with.

It’s very easy to fall for Aidan with his need to save the world complex, and for Lily with her stubborn I-can-do-this-leave-me-alone attitude. And as the story progresses it’s fun to watch these two learn to trust each other, take care of each other, and grow to love each other.

Another aspect of this story I loved are the Kincaid’s themselves. Their mother is hilarious, wily, and is always up to something – but you’d expect nothing less considering her children. And the family dynamic with all of the siblings is engaging, and interesting. I wasn’t expecting how their family was put together, and I liked that a lot. I also feel for the other siblings. You get a glimpse of some of the things that make them tick, and some of the hurts that they carry, and I can’t wait to see them all get their happily ever afters because let’s face it everyone deserves one.

The story is also rounded out by the banter between characters that Jill writes so well. It’s half of the reason I love her books and keep coming back for more.

If you’ve never read any of Jill Shalvis SHAME ON YOU! Just kidding. Kind of…anyway, you can definitely start with this one. It’s a good one. And if you have read Jill Shalvis before and haven’t read this one, then I’m questioning your priorities in life and demanding that you go and read it.

What I’m really saying is read it, so then we can talk about it because my fan girl still wants to dance around and be excited about it 😉

 

3 thoughts on “Review Tuesday: Second Chance Summer by Jill Shalvis

Leave a Reply

