Review Tuesday: The McCarthys of Gansett Island Series by Marie Force

The one thing that I love about the romance genre are series. It’s so wonderful when you find an author that you like and discover that they have a series of books out (or multiple series).

I stumbled across Marie Force on Goodreads one day, and actually started reading her Green Mountain series first. There are 6 books out in that series so far. Once I went through those ones though, I picked up her The McCarthys of Gansett Island series and over the past couple of months I’ve gone through all 12 books that she as out in the series. Instead of doing multiple blog posts about the series however, I thought that I would just lump all 12 books together and do a series post instead. maid for love

The McCarthy’s are a fairly well off family that live on Gansett. There are 5 children in the family and of course when book one starts none of them are married. Each book is about one of the children, but then as the books progress you meet their cousins, and some friends on the island and they get their own stories and happily ever afters too.

The one thing that I truly love about this series is that while each book focuses on a specific couple, each book also picks up story lines from previous couples. For instance Maddie and Mac who are the main couple in book one feature in all of the books so you see them grow their family, go through hardships, and joys etc. You never truly leave a couple that you meet in this series. They’re always cropping up and have chapters that are about them in different books. I love the multiple story lines and happenings in this series. I’ve never come across a romance author who does this so often or has characters from previous books so integrated into others. For me, that’s simply wonderful and make Marie Force one of my new favourite romance authors.

There is a downside to her doing that so often of course, and that is sometimes (rarely but it’s happened) the main couple of the story gets sacrificed a bit because there is so much going on with the other characters that the main couple doesn’t get enough of the spotlight. I found that happened once or twice in the series, but most notably in book 12. Still a great read, but Shane and Katie’s story felt a bit rushed to me.

If you’re looking for a new series to read. I highly recommend The McCarthys of Gansett Island, and Green Mountain. I don’t think that you’ll be disappointed, and I know that I am very eagerly awaiting her next book in both series.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s