Review Tuesday: Fables Vol. 21: Happily Ever After

I can’t believe it, but somehow the fact that the new Fables volume came out on May 12th escaped my attention. As soon as I realized it was out however, I called the bookstore closest to my house, and Matthew (who answered the phone) was lovely enough to find a copy for me, and put it on hold.

This is the second last Fables that there ever will be, and when I think about that I get very sad. This is a fantastic series. I was hooked right from the beginning and waited eagerly for each volume to release. If you’ve never read it before I highly recommend it.

Fables volume 21

From Goodreads:

In this penultimate volume of Bill Willingham’s FABLES, the residents of Fabletown look to live “happily ever after,” but there is a steep price to pay for happiness as Rose Red clashes with Snow White! Collects issues #141-149 of this Eisner-Award-winning series

In this volume we learn about the history Rose Red and Snow White’s family, and why these two are seemingly destined to always be competitive with each other. We also learn more about what’s been happening to Bigby (really not happy about that). Also incredibly sad about Beast. He’s one of my favourites.

The book is a good stepping stone to the last volume, and to what assumably will be the last epic battle between Snow White and Rose Red. Everything comes full circle it seems, as the first Fables volume started off with some trouble between those two sisters.

I’m definitely on team Snow White. Her storyline (hers, Bigby and their cubs storyline) is the main one I care about, and I NEED them all to be (well all that is left of them at this point) to be okay.

There are a couple of subplots in this volume that are sure to interweave with the sister’s storyline in the last volume, and it’ll be interesting to see how everything gets tied together.

The last Fables volume come out in July. Plenty of time for you all to catch up with the series if you haven’t started it yet. Trust me, you won’t be disappointed. Heartbroken in some instances, but not disappointed.

 

Leave a Reply

